2016 Woman of the Year – Candy Kerschen
Candy is “all things Greenville” and demonstrates this through her love for her fellow human beings, her focus as a leader, and passion for her community.
Candy’s accomplishments include:
Chamber of Commerce Directory 1991-2015
-Ten years as Executive Directory
-Michigan State Chamber of Commerce Executive Board
-Participated in creation of National Historic District for downtown Greenville
Montcalm Economic Alliance
-Reshaped organization; participated on the Executive Team that ensured the contract with The Right Place
Greenville Public Schools
-Baldwin Heights Elementary, GHS Cheerleading Team
-GHS Mystery Trip Chair
-Strategic Planning Team
Have Mercy Board of Directors
-Marketing Committee Chair
Spectrum Health United Memorial Hospital Volunteer
First United Methodist Church Strategic Planning and Volunteer
Women’s Action Network is always looking for new ways to support the economic and professional growth of women in our community.
Each year, WAN presents a Woman of the Year award to a local area woman in recognition of her service to the community, achievement in her profession or workplace, and commitment to her family. A celebratory afternoon takes place at the Senior Tea event in May.
The Woman of the Year is chosen from nominations submitted by the general public.
Nominations must be 300 words or less and must contain specific examples of why the nominee should be honored.
Woman of the Year nominations are solicited between February 1 and February 17 each year. If you wish to nominate someone for the Woman of the Year award, you may do so by completing the form below or submitting one to:
Women’s Action Network
P.O. Box 422
Greenville, Michigan, 48838
You can also email us at wanmontcalm@gmail.com.

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Who are you nominating? (required)

Why should this nominee be honored? (required)


2016 Candy Kerschen
2015 Amy Homich
2014 Gisela Peek
2013 Sally Marshall
2012 Penny Dora
2011 Michelle Blaszezynski
2010 Hilda Sorvari
2009 Janet Ralph
2008 Norice Thorlund Rasmussen
2007 Michelle Becker
2006 Alison Barberi
2005 Lisa Lund
2004 Andrea Krause
2003 Shirley Hayes
2002 Linda Ferguson
2001 Merle Finkhouse
2000 Pat Barnhart
1998 Maxine Bacon
1997 Gloria Guilfoyle
1996 Kathy VanderLaan
1995 Linda Drobish
1994 Audrey Malling
1993 Florence Jayne
1992 Audry Olsen
1991 Ruth Hansen
1990 Betty Saeger
1989 Joyce London
1988 Karen Carbonelli
1987 Linda Stafford
1986 Nelda Cushman
1985 Maureen Burns
1984 Mary Stevner
1983 Nancy VanHorn